Cypress Softball Earns Top Honors in All-OEC Selections

Cypress Softball Earns Top Honors in All-OEC Selections

The Cypress College softball team won their fourth consecutive Orange Empire Conference Title, finishing the regular season 33-7 overall and 19-2 in the OEC. The Chargers also took top honors when all-conference teams were announced on Thursday at the OEC coaches meeting.

Head Coach Brad Pickler, in his 31st season at Cypress, was selected Orange Empire Conference Coach of the Year for the 18th time in his illustrious career. He guided the Chargers to the state's No. 2 overall ranking and their 23rd Conference Title since 1990.

The Chargers' sophomore shortstop Sydney McCollum was selected as the Conference Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. McCollum hit for a .474 AVG with 21 RBI and 4 HR's in conference play. She also led the conference with 30 runs scored.

Cypress sophomore pitcher Hope Davalos was selected as the Orange Empire Conference Pitcher of the Year. Davalos led the conference with 13 wins and 49 strikeouts to go along with a 2.24 ERA in 87.2 innings.

Santa Ana freshman Maddy Myers took home Defensive Player of the Year honors. Myers boasts a .947 fielding percentage with 34 putouts in conference play.

Freshman Infinity Laufou earned first team honors for Cypress. Second place Santa Ana had Tiana Patrick, Kali Kitsinis, and Karlee Rivera.

Santiago Canyon was represented by Rylie Seip and Amber Elliott, while Aerial Carlson (RCC), Danielle Votendahl (OCC), Terri Nava (RCC), Audrey Beck (OCC), and Eryka Springer (FULL) rounded out the first team selections.

Complete awards list available below: 


Coach of the Year: Brad Pickler (CYP)

Most Valuable Player: Sydney McCollum, So. (CYP)

Pitcher of the Year: Hope Davalos, So. (CYP)

Defensive Player of the Year: Maddy Myers, Fr. (SAC) 


All-OEC First Team

Infinity Laufou (CYP)

Aeriel Carlson (RCC)

Rylie Seip (SCC)

Amber Elliott (SCC)

Danielle Votendahl (OCC)

Terri Nava (RCC)

Karlee Rivera (SAC)

Audrey Beck (OCC)

Tiana Patrick (SAC)

Eryka Springer (FULL)

Kali Kitsinis (SAC) 


All-OEC Second Team

Haliegh Wilkerson (SAD)

Kiani Puailoa (CYP)

Gabrielle Munoz (CYP)

Natasha Trujillo (FULL)

Sabrina Anguino (FULL)

Marissa Varrati (SCC)

Kellee Ross (CYP)

Nia Rodman (FULL)

Taylor Whitney (SCC)

Destiny Lucero (CYP)

Nala Osorio (OCC)

Synphony Hall (RCC) 


Honorable Mentions: Jeana Gonzales (SAC), Tianna Harris (CYP), Janelle Watson (GWC), McKenna Boyle (SCC)

Stay connected with the Chargers through social media. Follow Cypress College Athletics on Twitter @CypressChargers. Check in with the Chargers on Facebook/CypressChargers and on Instagram @CypressChargers.