Third Time's (Also) a Charm: Chargers Three-peat CA Championship

Third Time's (Also) a Charm: Chargers Three-peat CA Championship

Congratulations to the 2010, 2011, and now 2012 California Community Colleges Athletics Association softball champions!

The Chargers defeated College of the Siskiyous twice on Sunday afternoon to earn the title — Cypress College's third consecutive and eighth overall.

The Chargers opened the tournament with a 9-7 victory on Friday evening over Sierra College (41-6), the north's second seed.

But a loss to Siskiyous (40-2) on Saturday evening  pushed Cypress to the elimination bracket, where the team played three consecutive must-win games en route to the championship.

The first was a 7-0 victory on Saturday night over Riverside Community College (33-13), the south's second seed.

That set up the first of two potential games on Sunday vs. Siskiyous.

The Chargers held on for an 8-7 victory in the noon contest, delivering Siskiyous their first loss in 20 games.

Immediately following the win, the two teams took the field again. Cypress surrendered a run in the top of the first, but went on to plate runs in each of the first three innings. The Chargers also sandwiched a 5th-inning run between 4th- and 6th-inning scores by Siskiyous to secure a 4-3 victory and the college's third consecutive state title.

Tiffany Fox was named tournament Most Valuable Player, while individual honors also went to Chargers Stephanie Luhmann (Most Valuable Pitcher), Jessica Reichner (Golden Glove), and All-Tournament selections for: Luhmann and Courtney McGee (pitchers); Mallory Campbell and Morgan Wheeler (infielders); Tiffany Fox and Chelsea Jewett (outfielders); and Arren Nunez (1B).

Notes: This is the 23rd consecutive season Coach Brad Pickler has taken a team to the California Final Four. The Chargers have also won the championship each of the three years it has been held in Bakersfield. No other college has won more California State Championships in softball than Cypress College (8). The Chargers are also the only team to win three consecutive CA titles, having now done it twice.

Chargers no-mercy OCC
March 7, 2013 Chargers no-mercy OCC