No. 11 Chargers Travel to Face No. 6 Bakersfield in CCCAA Regional Showdown

No. 11 Chargers Travel to Face No. 6 Bakersfield in CCCAA Regional Showdown

CYPRESS, CA – The five-time state champions are back in the postseason following Saturday's announcement of the 2019 CCCAA Regional Playoff seedings. The Cypress College baseball team (23-13, 11-10 OEC) will enter postseason play as a No. 11 seed and travel to take on No. 6 Bakersfield College in a best-of-three CCCAA Southern California Regional Series set to take place on Friday and Saturday.

The Chargers finished tied for fourth in a competitive Orange Empire Conference, which includes five postseason participants, under third-year Head Coach Anthony Hutting.

Cypress has relied on consistent offense all season, led by sophomore center fielder Jesse Lopez, who leads the Chargers in all of the major hitting categories (Min. 75 at-bats), with a .384 AVG, 53 hits, 35 RBI, and 6 home runs.

Sophomore right-handers, Eric Chavarria and Adrian Chaidez, have gotten it done on the mound for Cypress this season. Chavarria (7-3, 2 Sv) posted a 4.55 ERA with 44 strikeouts in 15 regular season appearances, while Chaidez finished with a 3.33 ERA and 66 strikeouts in 11 appearances.

The Renegades (24-14, 15-5 WSC) finished atop the Western State Conference South Division, behind a strong pitching staff, led by freshman ace Alejandro Murillo. Murillo went 10-1 with one complete game in 13 starts for Bakersfield. He finished the year with 69 strikeouts and a 2.46 ERA.

Game one of the best-of-three series is scheduled for Friday, May 3 at 2:00 p.m. Game two will take place on Saturday, May 4 at 11:00 a.m. with game three immediately following if necessary. Tickets to the CCCAA postseason event are $12 for general admission and $8 for faculty, staff, students, seniors, and children.

Stay connected with the Chargers through social media. Follow Cypress College Athletics on Twitter @CypressChargers. Check in with the Chargers on Facebook/CypressChargers and on Instagram @CypressChargers.