2017 Baseball Signing Special: 12 Four-Year Transfers and Counting

2017 Baseball Signing Special: 12 Four-Year Transfers and Counting

By Wes McCurtis

CYPRESS, CA – The Cypress College baseball program is continuing the tradition of sending players on to the next level. As of today (6/28/17), 12-of-16 sophomores on last season's roster have signed national letters of intent to play at 4-year schools next season. First year Head Coach Anthony Hutting expects to have 15 sophomores playing at the next level in 2018, as 4 of his sophomores continue to weigh their options over the coming weeks.

Pitcher Andrew Quezada extended the Chargers' MLB Draft streak to 12 consecutive years after being selected by the Tampa Bay Rays in the 20th round (589th Overall) of the 2017 MLB Draft. However, Quezada will not sign with the organization as he plans to honor his commitment to Cal State Fullerton next season.

The full list of 4-year baseball transfers can be seen below:

Andrew Quezada, Cal State Fullerton

Garrett Calvert, University of San Diego

Evan Flohr, Michigan State

Brandon Alamo, Stony Brook University

Logan Swofford, University of Texas- San Antonio

Paul Gomez, University of Missouri

Henry Martinez, Oklahoma Wesleyan

Spencer Hereford, Cal State Dominguez Hills

Angel Ortiz, Cal Poly Pomona

Kaleb Sorensen, Colorado Christian University

Tripp Aversa, Azusa Pacific University

Joey Leavitt, Biola University

Tyler Smith, Sonoma State University

Chase Sebby, Ball State

Matt Schmidt, University of Michigan

Stay connected with the Chargers through social media. Follow Cypress College Athletics on Twitter @CypressChargers. Check in with the Chargers on Facebook/CypressChargers and on Instagram @CypressChargers.